Kids Grow Up

So Leif had his first sleep over this weekend.  It was a weird feeling for me because you spend so much time taking care of and protecting your children and it seems with every step forward for them is a step away from us.  So I dropped him off and had to hope that everything we had talked about and all of the protecting that I’ve done would be impact enough to guide his decisions.  And I guess really it’s just Leif heading off to a friends house to play but the overnight part was where I realized that I was having a bit of a hard time with him being gone because for some reason night time seems like a time where my protection instinct kicks in.  Maybe it’s where a lot of direction happens: making sure that they brush their teeth, making sure they are getting to bed at a decent hour, making sure that the doors are locked……..I was here and Leif was not where I could protect him.  

Bottom line – my little boy is growing up and he really isn’t all that little anymore.  It was just a glimpse of just how fast it all goes and how important every day is.  

The day ended with this great quote from my other growing boy: “DAAAAAD – Leif just kicked me in the nuts!”

~ by Stephen Baker on May 17, 2009.

2 Responses to “Kids Grow Up”

  1. These days do go too fast and it’s nice to see someone in the midst of them, NOT trying to rush them along. My kids are 16, 18 & 20 now, and not a day goes by that I don’t realize how fast the years have gone by.

    I followed an automatic link notification to find you and just read through a few of your most recent posts. I really enjoy your writing.

  2. Strange isnt it. As they are younger, you worry if you are up to all of the responsibility. As they grow, you have trouble letting go of it

Leave a Reply

 
