Road Trip

On Wednesday morning we’ll pack up the car with all of our gear and head down to California to lead worship for a Youth Camp.  Looking forward to it!  We’ve been planning and practicing for the last month and it has all come together.  My brother has been doing this camp for 5 years now.  Last year we were supposed to go and lead but things like work got in the way.  I think if I had made it a priority I could have made it but……I didn’t.  I did end up recording music that we sent up – you can check it out here: http://www.myspace.com/worshipinbeat.  I’m really excited to be there this year and meet the kids and get to know them.  It looks like this will be something we do every year so I’m really excited about that.  Pray for us and our travels and for these kids.  Here is an excerpt from what I wrote for the leader’s handbook regarding this years worship:

PSALM 63:1-8

“O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory.  Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you.  I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands.  My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.  On my bed I remember you;  I think of you through the watches of the night.  Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings.  My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me…………”

 

I love these verses because it embodies the kind of worship God desires from us.  Worship is seeking God, It’s thirsting for Him.  It’s acknowledging His love and meditating on Him.  It’s listening for His voice, It’s waiting for Him.  Worship is a place of protection and love and mercy. 

 

Musical worship is just one way to do these things but it is a great place to start.  My desire for the kids this year is that worship can be modeled and we as leaders can help open the doors for them to see God’s glory both through worship times and in our sharpen times together.  I desire that it can be a safe place, a place to shout or to kneel or to cry out or to be quiet but a place that it can happen under the shadow of God’s wings.  I don’t want the worship that starts here to be where it stops.  I don’t want worship to be something that happens behind the doors of a church.  This has been my prayer as I have been planning our worship (P63) times. 

~ by Stephen Baker on July 12, 2008.

One Response to “Road Trip”

  1. My favorite Psalm. Such passion!!

Leave a Reply

 
