Dumpster Diving

We got a dumpster to throw all the stuff away that we didn’t want anymore. There is a lot of trash in there along with some things that just needed to go. Mostly broken or VERY used stuff. This morning I heard some noise out in front of the house and I peeked out the window. Here is what I was met with:

 

It was a little weird for me because on one side I threw the stuff out so I don’t care if someone wants it but on the other I felt a little violated.  As I’ve been wondering why I felt that way I realized that I’m still attached at least in some way to my own trash.  Otherwise I wouldn’t care at all right?  Maybe not but I just can’t shake this feeling of being violated.

~ by Stephen Baker on September 20, 2007.

2 Responses to “Dumpster Diving”

  1. I know exactly how you feel. We tried to sell some of our stuff at a garage sale and was offended that people didn’t value my things (that I don’t value either). Leaving it all behind is helpful sometimes.

  2. Interesting metaphor isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

 
