Spirituality

So I was thinking on the way home that maybe what I feel like I’m missing out of my search is spirituality. Well maybe not altogether missing but certainly not enough. I’m not exactly sure how to obtain more to be honest. I was talking to a friend of mine this week who has decided that just doesn’t buy into Christianity at all anymore. He made an interesting statement: “I see people who are spiritual and live spiritual lives but don’t believe what Christians believe however seem to really live it and seem to have found peace and then I look at Christians and church and I don’t see it at all.” Can this be? When I stopped to think about it I wonder if maybe this is true. And I am to blame too. It hasn’t always been this way for me but I think I’ve been focusing too much other places and have let probably the most important part of my life slip away. Could this answer some of my discontent with church and all things “Christian”? 

It seems to be true that people who live spiritual lives are more satisfied (not all of course).  But how do I make my life more spiritual?  It seems like the answer displayed by “the church” is rituals.  Am I wrong?  I am not trying to say that things like communion, reading the bible, “quiet time”, etc. is not spiritual because obviously there is spiritual worth to those things but I feel as though there should be more.  Obviously it has got to be a change that takes place in your life.  It can’t be just the act of being spiritual can it?  Do you think that if you do these things that you automatically find spiritual satisfaction?  Maybe I’m digging too deep and should look for those moments.  And maybe that’s what it is.  letting go of trying to explain it and make it happen and instead searching and asking for those moments. 

One thing is for sure.  I have not been searching or asking for those moments.  I am living day to day hoping for it to just get better.  When it never does I blame God for not hearing me but I never asked Him to make it better.  I never asked him for the opportunity to be with Him more often.  I am the one that pretends to be too busy for that type of life.  Can you imagine though (and I can because I think I’ve been here before) if you were to allow a spiritual life and search for that life instead of making excuses for not living it, how much better we would feel!?  How much more fulfilled?  How much more peace there would be?  I think that just maybe all of the pieces that I’m always too busy trying to fit together would fit just the same without all of the head ache and mucky muck!   

So am I any closer to an answer?  I guess not really.  I’m not sure how to let go of trying to fit those pieces together.  Maybe I do know how and I’m just to scared to allow it.  Either way it’s just part of this journey and for now I’m struggling with knowing what a spiritual Stephen looks like.

~ by Stephen Baker on April 1, 2007.

5 Responses to “Spirituality”

  1. Its interesting to think about, but I think a central part of spirituality is enduring the struggle. The struggle of community. The struggle of spiritual discipline. A spirituality that does not force you to confront your weaknesses seems more like self-therapy

  2. A very interesting post. I’m sure there are countless people wrestling with the same issue. It’s hard for people to separate Religion from Spirituality, but that is what needs to be done. People need to take control of their spiritual lives, and not be led by rock star pastors or traditional ceremonies. I think people look for the easiest path in life and are more willing to believe something they are told than to go find it themselves. Spirituality is an individual adventure through life, it is always evolving. Religion is for the masses, a litmus test to give yourself on your spiritual journey…

  3. I dont know, I guess the spirituality vs. organized religion thing is a copout. It seems like Christian spirituality without the church is extremely self-centered, and church without spirituality is an empty shell.

  4. I guess it depends on how you define “church”. It seems to me that there is a growing number of people becoming frustrated with their Christian communities and quit going. At what point is it just people who are selfish or an organization that needs change? I guess I agree with Mr. Smith to a point and that is that there does have to be some separation of “religion” and personal spirituality. I’m not saying you have to do away with church. I think it could look differently but I do believe that being a part of a community of people is important. When I say religion the ritual of the whole thing. The parts that seem much more man breathed than God breathed.

    As far as the struggle – I didn’t mean to do away with the struggle but at the same time I would like to be able to let go of some of the crap I do to cope. I think if I lived my life with a spiritual focus some of that stuff would become un-necessary. No???

  5. Well, I for one was glad to discuss similar topics with you over a couple Fire Chiefs.

Leave a Reply

 
