The Kingdom of Heaven?

We went to church last Sunday ( we went to Sa’kred) and the subject was the Kingdom of Heaven.  I know I’ve read this verse a hundred times and even heard it taught before but this time it made sense more than before.  

Matthew 14:44-46 :: “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field.  When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field.  Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant looking for fine pearls.  When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it.”

Isn’t this true in our lives – we find something that we find of great importance and put all of our time and everything we have into it.  I do it with guitars and it could be argued that I do it with tattoos as well!!  So Jesus is saying that when you find the Kingdom of Heaven nothing else will compare and you will have to commit everything to it.  This really blew me away.  I’ve been intrigued with the term Kingdom of Heaven lately and this only made it more intriguing.

I guess it raises a lot of questions like what exactly is the Kingdom of Heaven? Is it something to be attained at a later date or is it here and now? How exactly do you find the Kingdom of Heaven? The thing about these questions is that answers only provide for more questions.  I’ve always thought that heaven was this place somewhere out there.  I guess I’ve seen it as like a bubble somewhere hidden in space.  I pictured angels pouring in and out on their way here to earth and back.  I guess I get this from all the pictures and the descriptions people present as possibilities.  I’m not convineced any longer that this is really an accurate picture.  I am starting to believe that The Kingdom of Heaven is here and all around us.  Do we maybe enter in when we choose to follow Christ?  When the verse above talks about giving all we have to be apart of this kingdom – does that mean that we give physically or otherwise or both?  And to give it should be Joy right?  We should want to give it all up to have this thing.  So does that mean that we can actually see the Kingdom of Heaven to get that worked up about it or is it something we are just told about?  And is the Kingdom really a Kingdom or is it a way of life or maybe is it Jesus? 

I’ve got no answers to all of this but thought I would start posting some of my questions……………feel free to say what you think.  It could be an interesting conversation.      

~ by Stephen Baker on July 21, 2006.

One Response to “The Kingdom of Heaven?”

  1. Hey there. I have been digging into this a lot lately. I am not sure I can completely invest myself in the this worldly picture of what the kingdom of God is, but I think that the evangelical world has gotten too wound up in the kingdom of God being about heaven and the sweet by and by.

    To understand the kingdom I think it is important to think of the Lord’s prayer–where Christ prays that the kingdom WILL com on earth as it is in heaven…and the book of revelation…where in the end heaven and earth infact do become one..

    anyway random thoughts from the mind of a struggling youth pastor.

Leave a Reply

 
