2 Years Ago

Two years ago today we rolled into Orange California in a big truck with everything we own and a huge unknown ahead of us.  I think it’s probably one of the riskiest moves I’ve ever made.  Moving my family all the way from Portland, OR to SoCal with no job no place to live no nothing.  A lot of people, in fact I think most people thought we were crazy.  A lot of people were waiting on the edge of their seats for our failure.  At times in the last 2 years it’s felt like failure.  We’ve even had thoughts of moving back out of the craziness that is Southern California.  When it really comes down to it we’re still people from Oregon living in California but we are in California and God has made it clear this is where he has us for now.  And really I couldn’t be happier about that!!!  I don’t know that I want to trade all the sun and the ocean and even the rat race down here.  At least not for now. 

Here’s what this trek has taught me:
TRUST :: God is way bigger than me and always has a plan.  Usually I can’t see that plan and that scares me but time and time again God proves who He is and that he can be trusted.

FAITH :: This is a hard one because it goes past just trust.  And I can say that I have had to have increased faith through much of this last 2 years but that doesn’t mean that I have it figured out.  There is ALWAYS room for more and I have learned that it is a beautiful thing when you ask God for more but also a devastating thing.  You can’t be given more faith – you are given reason for more faith.  That can get pretty dicey!

GRACE :: This is something that I have to learn and relearn all the time.  I like everyone else in the world am a mess.  I make all sorts of mistakes.  But the thing I’ve seen through it all is that God didn’t care.  He still had a plan for me and continued it moving even when I wasn’t.  Even when I found myself unworthy of being used He used me.  There is room for people like me in the crazy Kingdom of God and that’s a good thing!

It’s been a crazy 2 years.  If I had known when I packed that truck up in Oregon and started our way down here what was ahead I wouldn’t have done it.  But now after seeing that my plans are not God’s I would do it again.  I can’t say I wouldn’t be scared or have a hard time trusting but I’d do it again.  Right now we’re in another holding spot.  I don’t know what’s next.  I don’t think I want to know what’s next.  So like I used to say in an old blog of mine: Stay tuned because I have a feeling the best is still to come!

~ by Stephen Baker on July 1, 2006.

2 Responses to “2 Years Ago”

  1. What led you to make the move in the first place.

    I grew up in Southern Oregon by the way

  2. good thoughts here … so what has God shown you in CA over the past two years??????????

Leave a Reply

 
