A time for everything

"a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain,
a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace."

Yesterday it was officially announced that the doors of South County United would be closed. Mike shared the verse above from Ecclesiastes. Everyone that came last night shared about how they got there and what this group of people meant to all of us. I think it was probably one of the most honest and beautiful moments I've ever had in a church. I'm not saying that the end of SCU is beautiful but the people and their stories are and the opportunity to share like we did was amazing for me.

There really is a time and a place for everything and the thing that SCU started out wanting to accomplish was accomplished. What was born inside those walls and even more so outside of them will leave a marked change on everyone who invested themselves there. The thing is that what the people at SCU wanted more than anything was to really find out who Jesus was and then really follow Him. Not just show up at some building once a week. Not just follow some ritual or instructional book. To follow the real Jesus. That's a hard road. Not because the road is hard but because the road is hard to find and all along the way people look at you like you are crazy (other Christians that is). And what has been so special to me is that all of these people wanted to go it together. It didn't matter who you were or where you came from or what you were involved in. I heard it more than once last night that this was a place to come and be yourself no matter what that meant. Angry, happy, crazy, whatever.

So with that being said, I am going to miss what once was SCU.  And yet, I am excited because I know that what has been born in me during my time there will be turned into something new. So really, this is not a death, it's a change. The time for SCU has been, and now it's time for what will be. So to everyone at SCU now, or once before, thank you. Thank you for welcoming us in, for loving us as we were, and even allowing us to serve. You have all changed my mind about church, and about Christians. I was just about ready to give up, but you showed me there are people that exist that seek to truly know the real thing…………thank you!!

~ by Stephen Baker on May 29, 2006.

5 Responses to “A time for everything”

  1. Bro… the journey has been amazing. And it is not over, not by a long shot!

    I posted this morning about the whole deal. WOW, I’m still processing the weekend, ya know.

    Anyway, thanks for your friendship, your encouragement, and for walking with me through this. God is up to something in our midst… can’t wait to see what it is.

    Peace.

  2. Hey man, just came across your blog. I was bored and “blog surfing”. I know i’m a loser haha. Anyways i hope you dont mind if I added you to my blog roll. You just might get more traffic haha. My site is lopes11.wordpress.com

  3. Yeah, just like in life, you never really understand or appreciate the good thing you have until it goes away. Dont know how much you valued your community until now. Mick http://rockwatching.wordpress.com

  4. Sounds like it would be a great place to worship. I hope that the changes are just as beneficial to you spiritually.

  5. That’s a cool act of humility.

Leave a Reply

 
