flat tire

Well – I've been in a training class all week.  New software that Countrywide wants me to be using.  It's hard because I'm missing business during the day and so I end up going back to the office in the evening and working for a bit.  Wed. I was just about done with all of that.  I was tired and really just ready to make it home and have a nice dinner and fall asleep.  I was traveling along I-5 and all of a sudden I heard a really loud noise and then the tell tale signs of a flat tire.  I pulled off the freeway into a parking lot and sure enough I had a flat flat flat tire.  It took me a while to find all of the stuff needed for changing the tire.  Being sleepy didn't help.  I couldn't think straight.  Finaly I got the spare on and then had to  head out to find a gas station with air so I could fill the spare up (it was a little flat too). 

An interesting thing with all of this is that several people drove in and out of this parking lot which was empty except for me but no one ever stopped to see if I needed help.  And you know it's not like I was looking for help but it would have been nice for someone to ask.  It made me think again that I need to be keeping my eyes open for that person changing their tire or some other everyday inconvinence.  I need to look and take my time to stop and just even offer my help.  I've said this before but I know that I am always in way too much of a rush to even notice most of the time.  I don't think that's OK.  I don't think that is living the way Jesus would have.  It's really all about looking for ways to give water to the thirsty and food for the hungry and a place to sleep for those who need rest. 

~ by Stephen Baker on May 19, 2006.

One Response to “flat tire”

  1. Jesus – tyre changer. Liked that thought!

Leave a Reply

 
