Tuesdays that feel like Fridays

I’m tired! It’s been a long day. It started OK I guess. I got a lot done this morning but it just felt like a Friday. Then I got a call from Colleen telling me that she had just heard that my Grandmother had passed away. It was expected. She was in a hospice center and couldn’t even carry on a conversation anymore. It’s hard because I didn’t have the best relationship with her. In fact the last time I saw her was 2 years ago at my Grandfather’s funeral. I didn’t think that it would affect me but when I heard the news I felt a dull ache in my chest and had to fight off tears. Death is a hard thing. No matter how “prepared” you think you are to lose someone it just has a way of slithering underneath your skin. Of course after news like this it makes it hard to focus on work. The rest of my work day was spent just maintaining. On the way home I had a great yet short talk with my sister about everything going on. It was nice to talk to someone who was feeling similar feelings. To end a day like this? How do you end it? Well a good friend of ours gave us a gift that was just huge! It’s a story that I’ll have to tell another time. But for now: Jeff Smith – you know who you are!!! Thank you! And a thank you on some random guys blog certainly isn’t thanks enough but still – Thank You! So there it is……..I think I’ll call it a night. Wish it was Friday so that I could just sleep and sleep and sleep and sleep…………..zzzzzzzzzzzzz

~ by Stephen Baker on February 1, 2006.

One Response to “Tuesdays that feel like Fridays”

  1. Wow. That’s deep. I wish I could be there.
    Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

 
